REVIEW- One-pot Caprese Pasta

So, my husband and I are watching what we eat at the moment (by calorie control via MyFitnessPal rather than a specific diet). Rather than constant salads which leave us hungry and craving junk, we decided to try something different for our lunch today. Namely, this One-pot Caprese Pasta from Diethood.

In the interests of full disclosure, I have to admit we strayed from the recipe slightly, as I can’t bear garlic, and my husband fancied adding some yellow pepper.

Our cooker is a bit (a lot) slow, so lunch took longer than the recipe stated, but that can’t be helped. Anyway, on to what we actually thought of the meal.

Firstly, despite following the instructions to the letter, when we stirred in the shredded mozzarella “until thoroughly combined”, the only thing it combined with was itself, leading to one giant lump of mozzarella- not ideal!

Secondly, the pasta was a bit overcooked, so I’d suggest possibly taking a minute off the suggested cooking time.

Thirdly, there really wasn’t enough basil, meaning the dish was quite bland (no garlic, remember), so wasn’t all that enjoyable. Pretty much the saving grace was the gorgeous cooked baby plum tomatoes.

So all in all, I’m not sure I’d make this dish again, but if I did, I’d probably put the mozzarella on top when I served it, rather than stirring it in.

Let me know in the comments if you try this, and if you have any tips to make it worth trying again!

Leave a Reply

