Roald Dahl Day Fun

Hello!

I hope you all had a good summer. My girls are back at school (that came around far too slowly this year!!!), so I can finally concentrate on work again. And what better way to kickstart my return than a fabulous Roald Dahl Day assignment?!

rdd2015smaller_0_005442f85442f8_674_380

When I received a parcel from Puffin Books with two copies of Roald Dahl’s “The Twits”- one with scratch & sniff stickers, and the other with a hairy beard!- along with the instruction to “do whatever you have to do to make the most colourful, creative beard imaginable”, I was VERY excited!

Of course, having two daughters aged 8 & 5, I couldn’t settle for making just one beard, so I drew two templates and pitted the girls against each other!

First up, we have D (8)- she decorated her beard with multicoloured paint fingerprints, painted patches, a glittery pom pom, and even a pom pom painted brown, that she tells me is meant to look like stew (personally I think it looks more like something that rhymes with stew!)


Not to be outdone by her big sister, 5 year old J painted her beard multicoloured, added fingerprints in all the colours of the rainbow, added a red and pink sparkly moustache, and the crowning glory? Not content with matching D’s “stew”, J added a whole orange!


Of course, I couldn’t let them have all the fun… having my very own “Mr Twit”, complete with real-life beard, I just had to decorate his beard and take photos- he obliged by pulling his best “Mr Twit” face!



So, whose beard do you think is the best??

You too can get in on the action- just read the “Dirty Beards” chapter of “The Twits” to get inspiration, then do anything you can think of to make an amazing, colourful, creative beard. If you tag @Roald_Dahl and use the hashtag #RoaldDahlDay your beard may be shared! I’d also love it if you could tag @hopestreethoney – I’ll feature my favourites right here on the blog!

twitsbanner2490_0_009ba35c9ba35c_1245_430

Last but not least, there is now an AWESOME game called “Twit or Miss”, that you can download here.

Happy Roald Dahl Day everyone!

*Disclosure*- I received two copies of “The Twits” in exchange for my blog post

Leave a Reply

